I’m rather enjoying the styling on the 2008 Mazda 2, which blows all the other entry level hatches out of the water in terms of aesthetic save the Renault Megane. Overall, it still wins simply because it’s way cheaper the Megane. Recent, good reviews of its driveability also make it hard to beat.

I just saw one parked on the kerbside near my place and the first thing I can say about it is it’s small. Not the most remarkable in size (the Honda Jazz in comparison is almost an SUV) but it makes up for that with visual character. The lines running down the flanks all the way to the boot door really make it look sharpish. Its like a Yaris wearing Dior Homme circa Hedi, only way better. Which reminds me of another plus. Its not going to be half as common as the stuff you see out on the roads. Interestingly, the design of the car is inspired by Enzo Mari‘s Ameland paper knife which might somewhat explain the sleek yet aggressive lines. Certainly cuts clean for me.

