Sometime round October, when I purchased Kara Zuaro’s book, I Like Food, Food Tastes Good. In it, I also mentioned Battles the band’s offering of Roast Bone Marrow.

Sometime in November, my family went to London for a holiday whilst I was in Sydney. There, they feasted on the gory delight that is veal marrow at Fergus Henderson’s St. John. (Incidentally, you can find some hilarious vids on the webby.)

Then we have a telephone call in December when I was about to head home for x’mas and dad mentions eating at St. John and marrow and I was like, hey I made that recently. I had no idea that this was Fergus Henderson’s signature dish when I read the Battles recipe in October. Bam, this became one of the dishes I was made for x’mas when I went back. I like the way Battles describe it as being “Drunk Rabbit, Blended Smooth with a Straw”.

I also like the way Henderson nonchalantly describes it in the video above, one of the many hidden gems on the IHT website. I’m told by dad that he studied architecture before at AA in London which is a pretty big damn deal if you’re an architect. The restaurant looks and feels like a school canteen as well apparently, which my dad raved on about. The man also had no formal training in cooking and also suffers from Parkinson’s disease. So much restecp.

Ps. Roast Bone Marrow is delightfully simple.

You need veal marrow bones. Its the middle section of the veal leg bone. Get your butcher to cut 3″ or so pieces right in the middle for you. You also need salt. Get the best you can. You also really really want some very dry, crusty toast but not rock hard. Optional is a parsley salad but I find the freshness goes well with the richness of the marrow.

You can clean the marrow by soaking it in cold salted water and changing the water every now and then until the bones are no longer pink. You could also scrape the bones for a cleaner look and roast the trimmings for a sauce. Or, you could simply acknowledge the fact that you are an evil bastard that ordered the sawing off of the middle 3″ portion of a baby cow’s legs to feed your appetite and forget the cleaning bit.

Step 2 is to lightly oil a baking tray or whatever and line the dry bones onto it. Cook these until the marrow in the middle puffs up, something like 20-30 minutes at 220 degrees celsius. Or just hit it full whack and watch. You don’t want all the marrow to melt, you just want it to be this gray squiggly mess which comes off the bone in almost one complete pile.

Whilst the bones are roasting, you have time to prepare the toast and the parsley salad. For the salad, toss it in a simple dressing, nothing too overpowering. Say just 1 part white wine vinegar and 3 parts extra virgin olive oil for instance.

When the marrow is done, remove from the oven and consume immediately. Watch the video above for tips. I personally like to sprinkle a touch of salt on top of the marrow, suck it out and stuff some bread and parsley in my face whilst red wine drips from the side of my mouth onto the pile of bones below.

