Last night. Sigur Ros @ the Hordern Pavilion. Hopelandish lyrics and moaning. A beached whale calling for it mate. Shit does things to you sometimes when you really don’t understand it at all or more importantly you don’t need to. You just give in and accept the fact that you’re just an insect in the bigger scheme of things. If it sweeps you, you let it. That’s what Sigur Ros does for me. Admittedly, I have never been the most ardent fan of the band but the moment they popped onto the scene with Agaetis Byrjun, I was sold. On the way to the gig, the cabbie taking us there asked me, “Sigur who?”. I pondered an answer but we got out to escape wasting cash to ride into the venue. At the back of my mind, it mattered nought who, but when.

The show would open with us traipsing into the right side of the stage, as the Australian version of Battles, Pivot played on stage. I have to say I thought they were pretty good. Their new album, O Soundtrack My Heart, is coming out and I’ll defo be checking it out. They’re signed onto Warp if that’s anything to go by.

For once, thank god, I had no tall, dreadlock swinging, hat wearing, fatass shaking jerk in front of me. The tall dreadlocked guy didn’t really swing much and he moved elsewhere 5 minutes in. Also, no one wore a hat and the fat ugly chicks were well away. Salman Rushdie’s double was in attendance next to me though, losing himself in the music.

Listening to Sigur Ros with your headphones is one thing but actually seeing them live is another experience altogether. Massive globular lanterns lit up the stage and would graphically represent the music for the next hour plus. They swelled with light and dimmed with each wave of sound that passed through the air.

Jonsi Birgisson looked like a cross between Bjork with the glitter makeup on his face and Beethoven with his Attachment style rock god clothes. Violin bow on his guitar, he made the trademark swarthy electro guitar sound the world has now become accustomed to. Wailing into the mike, he twice held his voice so long that time itself stood still and sighed.

Along the way, Goggi Holm made bass with a drum stick, Kjarri Sveinsson (who I couldn’t get a shot of because he was on the other side) and Orri Pall Dyrason clinked and beat up a storm.

A 4 man mini brass band that did a mini march at one point completed the set.

The band comes out for their 1st encore. They would later return for a 2nd, with just the 4 main band members taking a bow.

The climax was perhaps Gobbledigook, encapsulated @ 2:41 minutes into the song, when they “blew their load” of confetti into the front few rows, as my mate put it. The following are a few videos that have been tubed for your consumption.

Svefn-g-englar, off Agaetis Byrjun was the opener.

Ny Batteri, off the same album popped up soon after. 5:34 the lights go on.

Hoppipolla, from Takk.

Gobbledigook, their latest single. Confetti @ 2:41.

*excuse the high ISO photos and shoddy camera work.

