Ayam Goreng 99 is that temple where Sydneysiders go to sear their tongues in the name of devotion to the Indonesian gods of chicken. Located in Kingsford, its a lot more than a stone’s throw from where I live but I know it thanks to friends who live around the area.

Its almost always packed and you’re either going to have to wait for a place or you’re going to have to go to one of the other copycat joints nearby. Ayam Goreng 99 though, is the real deal. I brought 2 Indo mates along once and they were fulla praise.

You come here for the sambal really. Which is like the spiciest yet tastiest chilli I’ve had Sydneyside. The chicken can be a touch dry but its flavorful and cheap. So cheap, you can pretty much ignore everything, kinda like when the sambal first sets onto your tongue and your tastebuds succumb to the flames. Good thing you get to quench it down with cold water or hot tea free flow.

I recommend getting the char-grilled thigh with some rice and also some of their other lighter options. The kangkong is a good bet. Then finish it with an Ice Durian which some of my friends swear by. I never expected to ever find good durian anywhere in Australia but this comes as close as ever I guess. I must also remind anyone going for the first time to take a tiny amount (tip of the spoon tiny) of sambal to test before you slob a dollop of the stuff on your plate.

Ayam Goreng 99
464 Anzac Parade, Kingsford
9697 0030
Wed-Sun, 11.30am-4pm and 6-9pm
BYO, cash only
about 10-15 pax.
