My friend has this habit of pouring the sugar over the top layer of foam on her lattes or cappuccinos. Then she sorta spreads it out to even things slightly before spooning mouthfuls away. Clearly, she enjoys the soft, dense milk foam with a little bit of crunchy sugar. Which keeps making me think of trying to caramelise the sugar that you’d put on top of the latte.

Obviously, if I took a torch and tried to burn the thing, I’d just end up with the sugar dropping into the coffee below after I wipe out the foam entirely. No matter how stable the foam matrix, any application of direct and violent heat required to caramelise sugar would surely make all the air in the foam dissipate, rendering the idea stupid.

Which means that in order for me to achieve a candy shell full of latte foam, I’d have to reverse engineer it. Make the shell first, then fill the interior with a whipper or a foaming device. Or maybe… I could make the coffee inside a 5 sided candy shell, expresso, crema and foam, a baby-latte and then, seal the top with a final wafer of candy shell that’s midly torched at the sides to join, like welding the panels together. I suppose the sugar would melt though.

Perhaps a 3rd element is required to finish the jigsaw.

Someone please tell me how to make a crispy, 1mm thin caramel shell containing warm cappuccino foam inside!

