Today I bought a packet of kopi C from some random stall in Pek Kio. It mattered not the quality of the coffee. I was mostly interested in the device, the concept. My coffee came in a plastic bag with this little green plastic string as the holding element. A straw served as the imbibing element. Your hands can avoid the hot coffee in this way as you walk and sip. Of course, because it comes out hella hot, I blow through the straw in an effort to cool it down. This creates a short lasting froth on the surface but I have enjoyed doing this since I was a child. Blowing into the bag gets bubbling noises and steam rising up to fog my glasses and a bit of frothy texture at the top, a very indulgent multi-sensorial experience, albeit a rather silly one. I’m sure I can’t be the only one that does this.

