For the past 3 weeks or so, everyday I’m at work, I’ve gotten the same breakfast. Toasted slices of ciabatta swabbed with a generous amount of butter and then doused with honey before being topped off with crispy fried bacon. Same thing all day everyday. Ok well, actually today I tried to vary it by having bacon on top of banana bread and another day I added sliced bananas to the regular. I reckon that combo is the absolute best. Funny thing is, I never realized how close I was to an Elvis. Y’know PB, banana & bacon. My workplace just doesn’t do PB. So I went and bought myself some.

Here’s what I reckon would be the ultimate variation of the Elvis as per my tastebuds.

  • Toast. Like thinnish sliced white bread that’s slightly savoury but otherwise neutral. I find multigrain breads just get in the way and the banana bread I tried was way too smushy.
  • Crunchy Peanut Butter. If possible I’d make my own and I would if I had a robotcoupe. Or maybe I should just bring a bag of peanuts and oil into work. Anyway, I like them roasted peanuts with the red skins. Reckon that mildly bitter flavor from the skins is a nice touch. Just roast them, maybe even with some brown sugar too, remove a bit to add back later then blend with peanut oil. Pop the reserved bits and bam.
  • Caramelized bananas. I love to throw a banana in the oven and then later torch it with sugar. I think this combo would be excellent.
  • Crispy bacon. Honey smoked bacon fried to a crisp would be perfect for this.
  • More honey. I reckon regular honey works best. All the complex flavors from gourmet honey just doesn’t work.
  • Praline Butter. More nuts and sugar and fat.
So to make it, I’d toast the bread, caramelize the bananas and crisp the bacon all at once. Bananas will prolly take longest. Then I’d spread softened praline butter onto the one slice of lightly toasted bread. Next step is the PB on the other side, possibly putting that slice under the salamander for a bit. Then come the bananas, mushed up with burnt caramelly bits. Then bacon and then assemble. It should go like top to bottom:
  1. Toast
  2. Praline butter
  3. Bacon
  4. Bananas
  5. PB
  6. Toast
This is straight up going into my breakfast cafe menu.
