I’ve been packin’ da pounds recently so I had to say byebye to my old standard for breakfast, which is my Honey & Bacon Toast. I wanted something “healthier/lower in fat” but because it’s my colleagues who make breakfast for me whilst they’re rushed and under pressure, I’d rather it was fast and simple to make. The H&BT made sense cos all you had to do was lightly toast some bread, toss on some always there bacon and drizzle with honey.

At work, we’re lucky enough to be able to enjoy a breakfast break for 5 to 10 minutes every day. We even get to sit down where the customers would if it’s not busy. We get to pick 2 choices of sides plus toast or you can get a small bowl of muesli or a slice of banana bread.

For my new breakfast, I wanted some kind of protein but didn’t want eggs because that took time to cook. I wanted an easy assemble brekkie. So the best option was smoked salmon. For the complement, I opted for wilted spinach mostly because it’s usually already cooked and because it’s green and sometimes I really like eating a huge amount of greens. So smoked salmon and spinach on toast then. Easy.

We serve any smoked salmon order with a side of horseradish cream, which is made of creme fraiche, salt/pepper, lemon juice and grated horseradish. It works pretty well in my opinion. So I usually spread the cream onto the toast and layer on the spinach and salmon. I had a brain wave the other day and decided to blowtorch the salmon myself. It made it look really really good. You know, with that charred aburi salmon kinda look. Flavour wise, I expected more but still feel it’s worth it, even for looks alone.

Today, I decided on my off day, I’d redo the same thing but better. So I got myself some fresh English spinach, the cheapest smoked salmon I could find, some sour cream cos creme fraiche is like 3 times the cost and the luxury element was a Sonoma sourdough miche. I slice the bread and fry it in a pan with some butter very lightly, so the surface is kinda toasty. I hate hard crunchy bread. Next I fry off the spinach with salt, pepper and butter. Then I assemble. Bread is spread with sour cream. Next goes the spinach which can be drained if you want, I don’t give a crap. Next goes some goma shabu sauce. Then the smoked salmon gets charred in a separate ceramic plate before it goes on top of the dish. Somehow, I have a much better blowtorch than my workplace (the flame is that light bright white blue in the middle) and it got much better flavor and char.

I reckon I just made something amazing. This is my intention:

  • Sourdough
  • Sour Cream + Wasabi
  • Wilted English Spinach
  • Aburi Smoked Salmon – the salmon should be brined for half a day with sugar/soy/citrus and then smoked very gently
  • Poached Eggs
  • Goma Shabu
  • Sesame Seeds

I call it: Eggs Benihana. I really want to use smoked salmon because of the extra flavor and also because it has much better shelf life than raw salmon.  I reckon you could still do it with raw fish but from a more practical perspective, smoked salmon has distinct advantages that would definitely be more successful in a food conservative country like Australia.

