Ok the title of the post is a little inaccurate. The pork got sliced up by my assistant so instead of cubes, we got slices. Buta Slice Udon. Alright. So anyway, big pot of water and I put pork inside. Bring to boil. Remove pork, rinse off gunk. Dump water. At the same time another pot of water with konbu, simmers gently for almost 2 hrs until the seaweed is tender. I mean really slow heat. Almost no bubbles. When the konbu is done, I remove it and bring the liquid to a boil. Next I chuck in a bunch of katsuobushi. When the bonito sinks, I strain the dashi.

Next I cool the dashi and measure it. When the stock has cooled, I place the pork belly into the pot together with a few cloves of garlic and a knob of ginger. Next time, I’m gonna use charred leeks and radish as well. I also put in the mirin, soy and sake in the following ratio to the stock. 4:1, 8:1, 8:1. I then keep this pot on a very very low heat for the next 6 hours.

Half an hour before the pork is done, I put in some potatoes. I couldn’t find any daikon so had to sub. I also put in some eggs. I was gaming at the time so they were hard boiled like Chow Yun Fatt. 5 minutes away, I cook off some udon, slice some shallots and chuck that into bowls. Eggs get peeled and finally the pork is sliced. Sprinkle of sesame and done!

End result was really nice. I wish I had a shot of some fat and skin but I somehow neglected that. Shit was jelly.

