At work, I open anywhere from 1 to 4 dozen oysters a day, not a lot but enough. We serve up massive pacifics and also various rock oysters all with different shapes and flavours. In the name of professionalism, I taste an oyster from each batch as I’m shucking. We do the hinge method, going in at the hinge and prying open the top shell before severing the abductor muscle from the top. We toss the top and scrape the bottom of the oyster to free it from it’s shell completely before putting it aside on ice whilst the shell gets cleaned, then with gloves, I place each one carefully back into the shell, making sure there’s no debris or anything. To finish, the liquor is strained back over the oysters but we don’t put all of it back in because we serve our oysters dressed and there’s usually too much brine. Sometimes I just slug it down in the morning, a big sea salty oceanic hit.

Anyway, I got myself a French style oyster knife from Lion Sabatier off Everten.com.au. At over $20 including shipping, it ain’t as cheap as the Victorinox or Dexter Russell ones that cost a third of it. However, it does come with a wooden handle and brass rivets/bolster. Another differentiating thing is that the knife is sided. The top side is ground thinner than the bottom, which is relatively thick, so there’s actually a functional “cutting edge”. You can see this in the pics where there’s a curved reflection on the knife. The tip itself is sharpened somewhat as well, with a rougher finish than the rest of the knife, which is finely polished. The fit and finish isn’t great for what I paid. The wooden scales used for the handle don’t fit flush with the tang and the tip is unevenly ground and roughly finished. Neither of these are dealbreakers though, it looks tres Euro and pretty cool if you ask me.

Stainless steel, weighty in the hand and looks like I need a fake moustache and an accent as I shuck to complete the look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So far, it’s gone through maybe 15 dz or so and it’s doing a great job until today, when the tip chipped. Guess I’m gonna have to “sharpen” it but round the tip a little. It really helps with the tip sharpened and the bevel on the cutting edge makes releasing so easy. Main drawback is that it probably won’t last all that long given how the tip already needs repair so soon.

