I’ve been drinking pourover coffee for the past year, pretty damn regularly. I can’t believe it’s $5 a cup at most places in Sydney. Then again, it’s the same for espresso, ridiculously overpriced compared to the cost. I guess we just think it’s worth that markup. But for me, pourover is something I prefer to make myself and drink at home anyway. At the moment, I just don’t have the counter space or the spare cashola to throw down on an espresso machine.

My setup is a budget iced filter coffee set from Kalita that has a coffee pot, filter cone and an attachment you can fill with ice to put in between the other two to make iced coffee. I’ve never used the attachment. I just let my coffee go cold. Anyway, I bought myself a cheap gram scale off eBay, a dollar store measuring jug plus filters and I was pretty much good to go but pouring was definitely a bitch. So this year, I added a Kalita jug when I went to Union Commerce in Kappabashi.

At first, I was sceptical about it. I kinda wanted to gun for one of the enamel ones they also had in bright red or this weird matte black unbranded one but ultimately, what tipped the scales was my girlfriend. She noticed that the lid doesn’t fall off when you pour. There’s just enough friction to hold it onto the body when you’re pouring whereas every other jug has a totally loose lid.

When I used it for the first time, I was just kinda enchanted by the slow, gentle pour that came out of the long spout. I know it’s a bit ridiculous but I liked the feeling when it poured. I guess to me, making coffee is a bit of a personal ritual, kind of like visiting a priest in a confession box situation or getting a charm writ for me by my girlfriend’s psychic priestess aunt. Yea, same thing.

I actually really like the form of the jug as well. The simple but unexpectedly comfortable handle and the elegant spout that joins cleanly to the body with a little copper spacer as the interface.

DSCF0223 DSCF0230 DSCF0148

