This idea popped into my head one day. I was thinking about people trying really hard to put childhood memories of sweet stuff like pop rocks and sherbet and making stuff with that and failing hard. So here’s my attempt.

What I’m trying to make is just a popsicle, a Splice y’know? Vanilla ice cream and lime flavoured ice. What I like about that is the combo of flavours and what I don’t is the icyness of the lime component. So basically, the interior of my popsicle is gonna be vanilla ice cream and a lime flavoured candy shell. This we’re going dip into stuff so we get a coated thingamajig.

“Splice”

  1. Vanilla Ice Cream
  2. Limes
  3. Sugar
  4. Corn Syrup

Make anglaise and freeze then paco till soft. Fill moulds and put a popsicle stick on the ends. Blast chill till super hard. Meanwhile, combine lime juice with sugar, corn syrup and water to make a candy shell and bring to boil. Dip hard popsicles into lime syrup and then blast freeze again. At this stage we have a crunchy lime candy shell with a creamy vanilla interior.

“Splice on Crack”

  1. “Splice”
  2. Coca Cola
  3. Pop Rocks

Make a reduction of coke. Dip the Splices into the cooled reduction and then coat with pop rocks. Freeze.

To serve

  1. “Splice on Crack”
  2. Sherbet
  3. Mirror
  4. Credit Card

You need a mirror to serve as the plate. Make a pile of sherbet at one corner and then make lines of sherbet, using the credit card to do so. In this case, a black or platinum card would work best. Put the “SoC” on top of the sherbet pile, making an indent into the pile but not completely obscuring it. Serve immediately.

The great thing about this dessert is that it’s all prep and easy to plate. I’m just not 100% sure I can succeed with that candy shell and ice cream. Also, I feel that the sherbet on the plate is really just kinda there for the sake of being there. I do like that the pop rocks are front and centre on this bitch.

