Like every year, I listen to some new stuff and some old stuff. Nothing really dramatic changes, I simply refine and reconsider what I find enjoyable and keenly try to find more of the things that make my head shake and toes tap. I don’t imagine it’s very different from anyone else. This is what I enjoyed this year.

NEW Things

Alvvays – Blue Rev
So damn catchy. I think it’s 72% recency bias but I found myself repeatedly humming randomly first thing in the morning when I woke up. I didn’t know what to think of the album when I first heard Pharmacist but it really stuck and I feel like this is my favourite album all year. I already loved Alvvays but on this record, it just feels like they pushed it up and just killed it.

Beach House – Once Twice Melody
I thought this would by default end up as my AOTY. I like this a lot and play it a lot. But I never thought for an instant that it came close to Bloom. It’s very good though. I feel it trails towards the second half but I love Beach House. Favouritest new millenium band.

Benny The Butcher – Tana Talk 4
This isn’t technically incredible. Nothing Griselda do is really. It’s just fucking good.

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith & Emile Mosseri – I Could Be Your Dog / I Could Be Your Moon
The kinda dreamy ambient shit I just die for.

Conway The Machine – God Don’t Make Mistakes
Fuck god but Conway does not miss frfr.

they are gutting a body of water – lucky styles
Heard this off deep cuts youtube and it bangs.

Denzel Curry – Melt My Eyez See Your Future
Best Denzel album so far. Man is living that DBZ hair life drippin like I wish I could.

Freddie Gibbs – $oul $old $eparately
This isn’t as good as Alfredo / Pinata but its still quite catchy and I love it so much.

Open Mike Eagle – A Tape Called Component System With The Auto Reverse
Brilliant. Possibly his best yet.

Earl Sweatshirt – Sick!
Mad.

Westside Gunn – 10
Not a patch on HWH 8 A and B but I managed to kop the LP off Daupe!!!

Honorable Mentions
Moor Mother – Jazz Codes
black midi – Hellfire
Billy Woods – Aethiopes
Sam Gendel – blueblue
Horsegirl – Versions of Modern Performance
Eiko Ishibashi – Drive OST
Beyonce – Renaissance
Szun Waves – Earth Patterns
Mount Kimbie – MK 3.5 Die Cuts / City Planning

Older things I discovered/reminisced this year. No one cares.

Flipper’s Guitar
Number Girl
Whirr
Nothing
The Field Mice
Trembling Blue Stars
Quruli
Alemayehu Eshete
Death Grips
Devon Hendryx
Amp
Drexciya
Loscil
Drexciya
Sweet Trip :(((